What are DUI classes?

dui-classesAlcohol education classes (commonly referred as DUI classes) are held at state-licensed schools, known as DUI Programs. These facilities differ from Alcohol Treatment Centers, which provide rehabilitative and therapeutic treatment for alcoholism.

DUI Programs only allow enrollment if it has been ordered by the court or the licensing agency in your state. The curriculum is focused on education of DUI laws, group discussions, and some one-on-one interviews with a counselor. Attendance is mandatory, and the number of classes required to attend depends on the DUI conviction.

Some states are now accepting online DUI classes to fulfill their requirements. These include: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming.

What are the steps to satisfy my alcohol education class requirement?

  • Referral
    Obtained from the court or your state-licensing agency
  • Enrollment
    Make an appointment, and obtain proof of enrollment
  • Attend Classes
    On-time attendance is mandatory
  • Completion
    Attend final class, receive certificate of completion

Additional state-specific information can be found here